Disaster Assistance

Local - 10/1/2012 5:37 PM

Residents in the four hardest hit counties by this summer's Derecho may be eligible for more assistance.  The Department of Health and Human Services announced that those in Fayette, Kanawha, Nicholas and Raleigh Counties could receive Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program benefits.  The program has been set up for those who lost food or incurred disaster-related expenses during the storm.

Here is a list of DSNAP locations:

Fayette County-Falls View Starting Points Center, Meadow Bridge Fire Station

Kanawha County-Schoenbaum Family Enrichment Center, Coonskiin National Guard Armory, Aldersgate United Methodist Church

Nicholas County-City of Richwood City Hall

Raleigh County-Bradley-Prosperity Fire Department, Beaver Fire Department, Trap Hill Fire Department



Member Submitted